Call for Submissions: Sociology of Work

RSW   |Research in the Sociology of Work | An Emerald Publication (Download as PDF here)

Steven Vallas, Northeastern University

Editor-in-Chief |


Call for Submissions

Research in the Sociology of Work has been a widely respected research annual since 1988.

Beginning in 2016,  RSW will appear twice annually, the better to represent the best and most provocative sociological thinking being done on work, organizations, and the employment relationship.

Submissions are invited for possible inclusion in RSW volume 28, no. 2 (Fall, 2016). All manuscripts will be subject to peer review, with timely feedback provided to authors. Articles can address any of a wide range of topics and themes, including but not limited to the following:

  • Control and Resistance at Work
  • Precarious employment
  • “Dirty” Work
  • Work and Family
  • Knowledge Work
  • “Diversity” Management
  • Intersectionality at Work
  • Work and Social Movements
  • Gender, Work, and Neo-liberalism
  • Work and the State
  • Emotional labor and Service Work
  • Sex work
  • Professional work
  • Immigrants at Work
  • Globalization and Work
  • New meanings of work

Articles intended for v. 28, no. 2 should be submitted no later than November 1, 2015. Queries and submissions should be sent to Steven Vallas at the above email address.


Editorial Advisory Board

Michel Anteby, Harvard Business School; Steve Barley, Stanford University; David Courpasson, EMLYON (France); Rick Delbridge, Cardiff University (UK); Liz Gorman, University of Virginia; Alexandra Kalev, Tel Aviv University (Israel); Arne Kalleberg, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Erin Kelly, MIT Sloan School; Kate Kellogg, MIT Sloan School; Julie Kmec, Washington State University; Anne Kovalainen, University of Turku (Finland); Steven Lopez, Ohio State University; Irene Padavic Florida State University; Valeria Pulignano, the Catholic University, Leuven (Belgium); Gretchen Purser, Syracuse University; Dee Royster, NYU; Vinnie Roscigno, OSU; Jeff Sallaz, University of Arizona; Ofer Sharone, University of Massachusetts Amherst; Sheryl Skaggs, UT Dallas; Vicki Smith, University of California, Davis; Don Tomaskovic-Devey UMASS Amherst; Geert Van Hootegem, Catholic University, Leuven (Belgium); Matt G. Vidal, Kings College London; Chris Warhurst, University of Warwick (UK); Christine Williams, UT Austin; George Wilson, U of Miami; Adia Wingfield, Washington University, St Louis; Patrizia Zanoni, Hasselt University (Belgium)